Built in 1924, the hall has been a focus of parish life ever since, but its use has reduced in recent years because of the building’s condition. The committee now needs to raise £275,000 to upgrade the building, which is in a Conservation Area, to provide the right venue for today’s activities.

“There’s nothing else quite like it in this part of the world,” said committee member Cllr Maxine Chew. “It’s got lots of character and is in a pretty setting, right next to the bowling green. Plus it’s got a sizeable car-park, ideal for modern functions.”

The new committee features Cllr Mick Smith as its chairman, and Cllrs Maxine Chew and Bob Gallagher as committee members, but also retains some members of the earlier committee – Janet Pawson is vice-chair, former parish councillor Sallyanne Davies-Ward is secretary, and Yvonne Coop remains treasurer. Also on the committee are Stacey Barber, Matthew Lee, and Sue Robertson.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: